I don’t write poems any more but I wrote this one for you

26 Sep

I am sick[1] of people dying

Not just grandma’s and grandpa’s past their prime

But Uncles and fathers who

Look like “bad dudes” from

Far away

A sort of brutal Monet

So much fear from far away

So old it has been in the Americas as long as we[2] have

How many times have I stood in

Neutrality because my God said so

While someone died

For reading

The old habits are not dead

Only rewritten as law

As blue blood over brown skin

I worry for my children[3]

Who have yet to be born

[1] I am a black woman I cannot get sick

[2] A misnomer because we didn’t want to be here and we stole the land from those who were here

[3] Brown children are not children but thugs and lawless animals

Leave a Reply

