Review: 4 More Movies

12 Jun

Fast and Furious 6: Did you enjoy the 5th film? If so you could pretty much skip this one and watch that one again. The only real difference in this film is the return of Michelle Rodriguez’s Letty whom I love and was happy to see back. The other thing that this film does is tie up some of the franchises loose ends (including that little issue with Sung Kang’s Han). The film also sets up a 7th film and with a Domestic box office of 204 Million dollars it seems quite likely this next film will happen. Really? 7? It’s not so cute. Though let me go on the record as saying I will see a 7th movie if it gets made. Overall, if you’re a fan of the franchise, see it but don’t be surprised when you feel a sense of deja vu. The best parts of the film come towards the end so don’t walk out if you want your monies worth.

Now You See Me: This film is shockingly good! I had pretty low expectations going in (it was my partners pick) but it was actually a really good time. The film looks beautiful, the acting is great and it constantly keeps you guessing. Just when you think you’ve figured it out they throw another distraction at you. See this movie! It’s only made 63 Million domestically and I don’t want that to be the final total for this awesome film. If you like a crime film, if you like to be surprised, if you like Mark Ruffalo then get to the theater!

The Purge: I was so excited for this film. I was. I thought it was going to be the thriller/horror movie of the summer. I did. I do not now think that will be the case. The concept is pretty incredible: what would happen if we all saved our aggression, anger and base behavior for one night a year? Would we all take advantage and become murderers? How far is too far? The execution was just ok. Ethan Hawke plays a man who seems to have forgotten his values…though I don’t know that we get a real sense of who he is or who his family is. That is the problem, the audience doesn’t get invested enough. The most likeable character is the son and its mostly because you identify with his feelings. He doesn’t see the value in the night and neither did I. I would say see it but I think you can wait for the DVD. So far the domestic totals are at 37 Million. Seems fair to me.

After Earth: Guys. See this movie. I know what you’re thinking “M. Night Shyamalan? No thanks!” but if you take that attitude you will miss out. This movie is visually beautiful and also the story is really excellent. There are some things that aren’t handled well (mostly one thing) but ultimately this film is better than you think. The film has only made 47 Million domestically. Go see it. Form your own opinion!

All the box office totals are from Box Office Mojo. Photos are not mine!

Image

Leave a Reply

