Next Step Blues

30 Jan

I finished something. Well several somethings. I think I may have mention that I’m writing a lot recently. Six mornings a week I trudge out of bed, turn on my computer, coffee maker and write. I’ve written two movies in the last few weeks and I feel great! Of course that does bring you to the age-old question: what’s next?

You’ll find this is a constant question with me. I often fluctuate between wanting to get my work produced and see the work on-screen and wanting to pretend the movie was never written. When I was writing poetry it was generally the same thing. I wrote a lot but I didn’t submit a lot. At least though with Poetry I had a very good understanding of what the next step was. Once you have a polished(I don’t say finished because I know some people never feel a poem is done) poem you begin submitting it to literary magazines or to poetry contests. When it comes to film I’m sort of at a loss.

Even fiction writers have a clear idea of what they are doing. I’m at a loss. Internet searches provide the same answer: get an agent or submit to producers though many of them won’t walk to you unless you have an agent or are working with a producer.  The quest begins with a lot of phone calls, emails, letters and it’s slow going. The advice also usually has a large dose of “move to  LA” in it. Something that at this moment I am in no way prepared to do.  So what will I be doing next? Editing, querying and calling. Nothing else to do about it!

I’ll be searching the web for agents names, seeing who represents whom and hopefully getting a film made. Wish me luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

