Ugh…. Health and Money

8 Aug

So you all know, I did a fruit & veggie juice/chew for five days. What does this mean? For the last five days I ate or drank only fruits and veggies. It was hard. REALLY REALLY hard. But this morning starts the beginning of changing my diet for the better but being able to eat more whole foods and work meat/poultry/fish  back into my diet. I am excited.

The thing I craved the most on my juice cleanse? A beautiful turkey sandwich with avocado. Yeah, of all the things to crave this was mine. Don’t get me wrong I thought about a lot of other things I could be eating but the turkey sandwich meme stuck with me.

My worst day? Day three. My joints hurt, I had a headache, my stomach was irritable and I felt extremely nauseous.

What did I lose? A grand total of 9 lbs. Not to mention that my body looks slim, my skin looks pretty good and I feel pretty good. Now this isn’t to say that I have fixed all my problems or that I won’t gain this weight back as I add meat back into my diet but I’m excited and hoping that this little reboot I did will be just the jump-start I need for continuing a healthy lifestyle.

The first thing I’m eating now that I’m done? More juice! You read that right. This morning I decided to continue juicing during the day and to enjoy a more solid meal for dinner. I will have fruits and veggies throughout the day but I think this is working for me right now.

How much did it cost? I’m not going to lie. It was kind of a lot. For two people for five days worth of fruits and veggies to eat and juice I think I spent somewhere near $100. We did a farm to home delivery service and then supplemented with some fruits and veggies that we bought at our favorite local grocery store. This isn’t horrible but I just started a new job and as you can guess my money has yet to get right. I am now super broke but my body feels pretty good. Go  figure.

Want to learn more about this juicing thing? Check out Join the Reboot and the film Fat, Sick and Nearly dead.

This brings me to the second part of my post today and that is about money. I’m going to rant for a second so get ready. This is a horrible two weeks for me and it isn’t over till the 16th. My second pay check came on the first of the month which is the check that needs to pay for over $1,000 worth of bills.  How much did I make on this check? $950. I panicked. My partner, lovely woman that she is, loaned me money to cover my bills and I returned some things I had purchased with the previous check and I balanced to within an inch of my life. And by that I mean I am overdrawn on one of my bank accounts. I am not happy. Not to mention that I am now at the max or nearly at the max of my credit cards just trying to survive. I am frustrated by money. I wish it wasn’t necessary. What’s a girl to do.

I’m sincerely hoping that this next check will put me in a better place monetarily because I hate borrowing money. Worse, my partner hates to  “lose” money and while I’m cute, I ain’t that cute.

Ugh…health and money guys. Health and money.

One Response to “Ugh…. Health and Money”

  1. vgunnervisalus August 10, 2012 at 4:37 PM #

    I feel the same way..! Well..I felt the same way…Wanting to be healthy and also save money..but I found a way =P Check out my blog =)

Leave a Reply

