Tuesday Poem: On this the day that the benevolent Saint Valentine gave us to worship each other because I only love you one day

14 Feb
Or perhaps if I was feeling more anti-capitalist I would say:
On this day that the mass media and years of social pressure has ingrained in us is a day of love when its really a day of increased revenue for the the stores and not a true celebration of the love that we feel or don’t feel
Or I could call it the one day a year that I get sex without having to do much

The problem with old saint valentine is he has forgotten his voice
if he ever had one
and if he ever had one he would probably spit on all this
stuff we feel we have to do
the chocolate
and champagne and the jewelry that costs more than my car
If he ever had a reason to believe that this would become the day of lovers
this February 14th which is arbitrarily marketed as the one day a year I may profess my love
and how does a man who died for god only knows what
beget love?

I guess what I am trying to say is
I love you every day
and not just this one
I guess what I would like to give you
is the peace of mind to know that my love is not reserved for February
but flourishes in every other month
and I guess what I would like to say is
I love you
tonight
tomorrow
and the rest of my life too

Leave a Reply

