Friday Reflection: 5 Poetry Books

20 Jan

Another January Friday and another opportunity to share how I’m going to achieve my goals for this year. This week, that’s talking about the new poetry books I’ll be reading this year. Some of these are books I planned to read in 2011 and didn’t get around to and some are new this year but I’m trying to read new books and get new perspective.

  • Mule & Pear by Rachel Eliza Griffiths. This was one of the last books I purchased in 2011. Rachel is an excellent photographer and I have been interested in reading her poetry for a while. It won’t be the first book I read but it will probably be first or second.
  • Fairy Tales in Electri-city by Francesca Lia Block. I love fairy tales and science fiction so I am excited to read this one. I’m in the midst of reading it now and the poems are beautiful and haunting. I’m excited to finish it and hoping to find another speculative or Gothic poetry book to read later this year.
  • Come On All You Ghosts by Matt Zapruder. This book is actually from 2010 but I really liked his work when I heard him speak in 2011. It was on my list to read all last year and so I’m going to try to finish it this year.
  • selected unpublished blog posts of a mexican panda express employee by Megan Boyle. I first heard about this book on HTMLGiant. Its supposed to be really good but I imagine its a little experimental for my tastes but I’m going to check it out anyway.
  • Up Jump the Boogie by John Murillo. Another sort of cheat. This book is from 2010 but was huge all through 2011. It won a ton of awards and I have been meaning to check it out all year but I like to avoid the hype. So now is a perfect time 🙂

 

Those are the five books I plan to read this year for sure. These are just the poetry books. I also plan on reading 20 books for pleasure. Maybe next week you’ll get that list. 🙂 Until next week!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

