Friday Reflection: Writing routine

13 Jan

How do you build routine??? I struggled with this last year. I’ve decided to try and keep it simple this year. Each week Poets and Writers sends a newsletter called The Time is Now. Last year I ignored it. I would look at the prompt and then forget about it or delete it without looking altogether. This year, in an effort to get myself writing, I’ve decided to write at least two poems a week. The first, you all will see on the blog for the Tuesday Poem. The work will be really rough and unedited. The second will be written to the prompt from Poets and Writers. If you want to write along with me check out the website for more information.

The other thing I have to figure out is when to write. You all know my schedule is pretty hectic and finding the time to regularly write is difficult. My bed time isn’t regular. My wake-up time isn’t regular. Day-to-day is crazy. So at this time, I’m not going to fight it. I’m going to do those two poems and not worry so much about when the writing gets done.

A few writers on how they make time:

As you can see, most of them generally have an idea of what time they will write and how long they will spend doing it. Again, I’m not fighting…I’m settling into making things work. Are you making changes this year? Even if its just changing your attitude like me I want to hear about it. Comment please!

2 Responses to “Friday Reflection: Writing routine”

  1. Patrick Dykie January 13, 2012 at 8:42 AM #

    My routine involves a good alarm clock, and plenty of coffee. I try to go to bed by nine, and wake each morning at three am. I find I can get more written in four hours than a full eight hours with tons of distractions. This routine doesn’t work for everyone, but it works for me. I just finished my first book in record time, and I’m starting another.

    • Eboni Dunbar January 17, 2012 at 9:57 AM #

      Thank you so much for your reply! That sounds like a great routine. Was it difficult when you first started? How do you deal with disruptions i.e.- Meetings that are earlier than usual or people trying to keep you up later? Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

