Friday Reflections: Tuesday Poems

9 Dec

So, I didn’t write a poem for today. Don’t throw anything please! I’m sure you’re thinking, “wasn’t she doing so well? Wasn’t she writing a poem a day?” Well yes, and no. I finished out the month not writing a single poem for four days. This of course led to me not writing a single word for December yet. Is this a crying shame? Yes. Do I need to fix it? Yes. Do I know how? Sort of.

The general consensus is that if you want to write, you don’t wait for the muse to find you. Regularity and routine draw her to you. She begins to think, “Hey this kid is serious! I better give her some great ideas!” and then you may write your greatest novel or the crappiest thing on the planet. This depends on whether or not you are a good writer not on what the muse brings you.

Of course, there are always the stories you hear: I was waiting for my train, watching these two little kids play hopscotch in the subway station.  And that was when I realized I had to write a novel about my childhood in Mississippi as told from the point of view of a mouse and I wrote the whole thing on that train ride. Or very nearly the whole thing.

This, my friends, is what keeps the myth of the muse alive. People who say the idea just came to me while I was brushing my teeth and then that book just somehow wrote itself. I wish it were this easy. Let me assure it isn’t. How do I know? Because if it were that easy everyone would be a writer and sell books to publishers and be millionaires. Is that the case? No? Well then.

So, I’m sure you want to know, if I know the code to get words to page why don’t I do it? Well that would involve finding a consistent schedule. That would involve me finding twenty minutes in my day or getting up earlier or going to bed later and I simply haven’t reconciled myself to losing any more sleep than I do already. It’s a difficult business building a habit. They say it takes a year to really make something a habit, to engrain it in your muscle memory and it only takes a few weeks to undo all that hard work. Will I work on it? Yes, I’ve been working on it all year. Will it still be a goal I have for myself for next year? Yes, I will. Should you tell me about your routine? Yes, you should. Leave me a comment!

One Response to “Friday Reflections: Tuesday Poems”

  1. Lanny Scovell January 4, 2012 at 12:45 AM #

    Thanks for the nice read 🙂

Leave a Reply

