Friday Reflection: Start Small

28 Oct

I’ve mentioned that I want to get writing again. The start of NaNoWriMo seemed like the perfect start. Now I’m not much in the way of a fiction writer, but my plan is to write 140 characters a day for the month of November. I’d like to call it the Twitter Poet Challenge. Each Tuesday in Nov (except Nov. 1 which is a special poem around the subject of global citizenship) I will post one of the pervious weeks tweet sized poems as well as a writing prompt. Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? What’s your idea?

As you may have noticed, the weekly reflection is slowly coming together. It’s funny but its more difficult to write on Fridays then I thought it would be. Which is why I’ve decided to reflect biweekly each month for the time being. It’s a littler slackerish on my part but I want to write the reflections and genuinely take the time to reflect and share. I don’t want this blog to become something that I write on Autopilot. To that end I’m going to try to write one book review a month. I think that will help me to be reading and also to keep my expository writing skills up.

The month of October is ending and the blog is changing again. Taking a new shape. I think the changes are a good thing but I would love to hear what you think. Every so often I check and see who is viewing my posts, lets just say that more often then not, I’m the only one reading. Which is fine because at least I’m stretching my writing muscles and keeping my motivation up. It’s also giving me something to put too much energy into đŸ™‚ Which I always need. It does make me wonder about the value though. It’s the whole tree in a forest thing right? Did you notice that I fell? Did you notice that I’ve continued to do stuff and am not a one trick pony? I started my blog just over a year ago and it’s definitely been all over the spectrum. But is the rainbow worth painting if you know people aren’t going to look up? This I suppose is also the age old poet story. When people aren’t reading your work do you continue writing? Of course because you love it. Is the same true with blogging? I guess we’ll find out.

 

Monday: Video Monday

Tuesday: Tuesday Poems

Thursday: Thursday Treat-Links I’m loving

2-4 Friday: Friday Reflections

2 Responses to “Friday Reflection: Start Small”

  1. tsizzles October 28, 2011 at 9:04 AM #

    That’s an interesting post. It reminds me of something I wrote recently on my blog. Really great stuff you got here. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

