The Art of Random Acts

9 Aug

I’ve always been the sort of person who seeks a goal. My every effort in school, to achieve the goal of graduating from college. My extracurriculars? Provided me access to leadership roles to build me skills. Every action for the benefit of my own self-interest. Up until recently I didn’t see the reason why this was a problem. People do often need to develop themselves more and think about there needs. However, what I have only recently realized is that I was missing that sensation of pure unadultered goodness that comes from volunteering for the sake of being helpful.

It’s not a skill I’ve mastered. By no means am I perfectly content with how I engage with people and help them for the sheer joy of helping but I will say that wil sites like SPARKED.org, it makes it easy and convenient to help people all over the world to improve their lives. The feeling of giving is incredible and I think all the money in the world couldn’t be better than that feeling. Though if you have all the money in world and want to give it to me, I’ll take it :). The great thing about helping others is that you can do it anytime and anywhere. It can be as simple as telling a person on the street how much you like their smile or buying lunch from the homeless guy you usually ignore.

I would like to think that if we all regularly did something nice, just because we can, we would have less conflict and more people thinking of each other as brothers and sisters. Consider the website Operation Beautiful. All that they ask is that you use a post-it note and anonymously let someone know how special and beautiful they are. I haven;t had the pleasure of seeing one in person yet but I love the concept. This is simple and easy and you can do it at work without a second thought :). Who would punish you for letting your coworkers know just how awesome they are?

The point of this all about me post is to say, do something nice. A random act that you tell no one about….Or maybe just me :). See if it doesn’t change your whole outlook.  You may be surprised!

“To become a kinder, more loving individual requires action. Yet, ironically, there is nothing specific you have to do, no prescription to follow. Rather, most genuine acts of kindness and generosity seem natural…” -From Richard Carlson’s Don’t Sweat the Small stuff…and it’s all small stuff. Published in 1997 by Hyperion Books in New York.

Leave a Reply

