You may say I’m a dreamer…

14 Jun

I saw this quote recently on Rosetta Thurman‘s blog. It said:

“WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE. AND IF YOU CANNOT WORK WITH LOVE BUT ONLY WITH DISTASTE, IT IS BETTER THAT YOU SHOULD LEAVE YOUR WORK AND SIT AT THE GATE OF THE TEMPLE AND TAKE ALMS OF THOSE WHO WORK WITH JOY.” – KAHLIL GIBRAN

My mother and I have been talking a lot about my day job and whether I should stay or whether I should look for other employment. She feels like I can learn a lot from my new manager and I agree with her. My problem is love. When I started working at my current job I was excited. It was a new environment, with new challenges and certainly a forward step from the job I had prior. I loved talking with our clients and engaging with people. Then, everything changed. My manager at that time hired a coordinator who was extremely laidback and not at all proactive. Then my manager went on maternity leave. I had to step up a lot during that six month period and I am proud of myself from doing it but I do feel like in the end it killed my love.

I love poetry. It’s fun, interesting and allows me to use a part of my brain that I don’t usually get to. But I will admit that sometimes the business of writing can kill the love of writing for me. I want people to read my work and I want to be engaging in the community but I don’t want to lose my love of writing because of it. If I ever start to seriously feel like I’m working with distaste, I’ll have to stop doing it. How do you keep your love of writing? How do you get yourself to genuinely connect with anything you love, and not get tired of it or lose your desire to do it?

I hope your work fills you with love and that you get to work with joy.

Leave a Reply

