The New Challenge

1 Jun

My latest challenge is a reading one. I figure if any time is a good time for me to take a break from writing and give reading an opportunity this is it. I’ve decided to put my nose to the grind stone on my 2011 goal of reading 20 books for pleasure. So far I have four and a half. The list is thus:

  • Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua
  • A Woman’s Morning Song by bell hooks
  • Suck on the Marrow by Camille Dungy
  • Squrril seeks Chipmunk by David Sedaris
  • An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin (This is the book I’m half way through. I’m not enjoying it and may abandon it.)

I also have a list of books that I’m pumped to read:

  • An Exclusive Love: A Memoir by Johanna Adorjan
  • Baking as Biography: A Life Story in Recipes by Diane Tye
  • Inferno (A Poet’s Novel) by Eileen Myles

I think I’m doing pretty well with my list. I’ve read all of the above books in the past month so I feel like I can handle the other 15.5 books. No problem 🙂

Sense its finally June, six months into the year, lets see how I’m doing with the goals I set back in January. Next week I’ll hit you with my updates! See you tomorrow for the Links I’m lovin’

Leave a Reply

