Keeping the pace

17 May

So I’m certain that you’ve heard the adage, practice makes perfect. For a writer this generally means that there is nothing more important than writing. Everyday. So many writers, when interviewed, say that I have a routine, they write every morning at 5:30 before anyone is awake to bother them. Or They write before they go to bed no matter what time that is. The thing about writing that most people forget, is that the muse doesn’t come when she’d called. She comes when she sees a true desire. When you put in the work, you get the reward.

Unfortunately with a schedule like mine which is hardly ever consistent it feels almost impossible to create a routine. I don’t eat at the same time, I don’t wake up at the same time, I don’t poop at the same time. I often feel like there is no way to have concrete/same-time-everyday writing time. I tried waking up early but I often over slept or never heard the alarm. I tried to do it everyday at lunch but since my lunch time isn’t consistent that didn’t really work. The only thing I’ve yet to try is before bed because I don’t really have a bed time. To me its difficult to make time for writing, even though I love it and want to do it. I’ve had the last week and a half off due to some health issues and I still couldn’t find the time to write. This is what I love. This is what I want to do with my life. If I don’t make the time then I won’t do it.

How do you keep the pace? How do you continue to write, do you have a routine? Do you just write when you have the chance? How do you keep the pace and create new work?

Leave a Reply

