The Waiting Game

11 Apr

Remember when I said I was going to submit to a whole bunch of places this semester? Remember when I had these great goals for my writing life? Well I’m epicly failing. I do have to say though that I feel like the wait is a part of it. Any writer/artist/muscision/creative professional will tell you that the hardest thing about getting your work out into the world, beyond the rejection, is the waiting.

 

Yesterday, I received a response to s submission I sent out in September. I still have a submission for which I haven’t heard back from August. I hate submitting because I hate waiting to find out if I’m successful or if I’ve failed. Again. Failure is obviously 99.9% of what i receive. Thats just the nature of the beast. All the waiting can make you feel like it’s not worth it to submit. Let’s face it, I send out 3-5 poems per submission and it takes the average journal approximately 3-10 months to respond. I understand that there is a high volume of submissions, I really do but I just feel like why should I bother to wait over a year just to be told someone isn’t interested in my work. Maybe if I received a personal note from them or something but thats mostly impossible. I mean if every editor took the time to write personal notes about your work than they would take somewhere between 2-5 years to respond to each submission it receives. Somehow that would be worse.

So I understand I have to wait and I understand that these things take time. But if we look at the cost/benefit analysis is it worth it? I guess that’s why creative activities are a work of the heart and not of the head. My logical self says my energy would be better spent trying to get a promotion at my bill paying job but my heart says, I’ll just write one more poem. Just send it out…just see what happens…

 

What do you do with your waiting time? Do you use it to read other publications your thinking about submitting to or what? I’d love to hear. I mostly have self doubt and throw myself into all the things I have to do.

Leave a Reply

