Renaming the Self

28 Sep

So today in workshop we discussed Renaming the self and the myth and persona that hip hop artists build for themselves. I see this with slam poets too. Some of my favorite Minnesota slam poets like El Guante have renamed themselves and created a persona. So I’m wondering, what would happen if I created my own identity and lived that persona.

Part of my interest is of course informed by the fact that I’m young and my identity is extremely transient. The idea of giving this one up and starting from scratch isn’t so bad. But what does it mean to create ones own mythology? How does anyone do this? Do you give up the old life and start fresh or do you balance the new and the old?

I’m going to think seriously about my identity as poet and the mythology I want to create for myself in the literary world. Will I always be that girl who writes about girls pain.

Leave a Reply

